RTX 5090 16-pin connector melts: is there a PSU-brand signal?#
Status: Reference Last verified: 2026-09-25 Canonical for: real-world RTX 5090 12V-2x6/12VHPWR melt evidence by PSU brand, cable path and GPU brand Data:
../analysis/rtx5090_connector_incidents.csv(ledger) ·../analysis/rtx5090_psu_control_reddit_builds.csv·../analysis/rtx5090_psu_amazon_snapshot_2026-09-25.csv· reproduce every number withpython3 analysis/rtx5090_connector_brand_stats.py
1. Executive summary#
The question: after allowing for PSU market share, are Corsair, Seasonic or any other PSU brand disproportionately represented in RTX 5090 connector melts? This review built a deduplicated ledger of 91 connector incidents (79 confirmed, 12 probable) from January 2025 to 25 September 2026. It also recorded 6 ambiguous electrical events, 6 unrelated board failures and 2 shunt-modded cases, all excluded. The incidents were compared with two independent denominator proxies.
- No detectable PSU-brand signal once the cable path is separated out. Corsair PSUs appear in 28 of the 68 incidents with a known PSU, about 41%. That is close to Corsair's 34–38% share of Reddit 5090 build posts. Nearly two-thirds of those Corsair cases (19) failed on a GPU-bundled adapter, not on a Corsair cable. Where the PSU maker's own cable carried the current (topology A/B), Corsair accounts for 8 of 34 (24%). That is below every denominator estimate (observed/expected 0.62–0.84).
- Corsair is over-represented among adapter failures (19/30, 63%; Fisher p = 0.011 against the build control). The cause is almost certainly topology, not brand. Corsair sells many high-wattage units without a native 16-pin socket (AX1600i, older HX/RM/SF), and the owners of those units are the ones who reach for the GPU's 4×8-pin adapter. Treat this as suggestive of a topology effect, not evidence against Corsair cables.
- Seasonic: suggestive but inconclusive. No melt of a Seasonic native cable, and no failure of a Seasonic cable itself, was found (0 of 34 A/B cases). All four Seasonic-PSU incidents failed on something else: two MSI adapters, a recalled CableMod angle adapter, and a WireView whose alarms were ignored for weeks. Whether zero is surprising depends on the denominator, which varies by a factor of 2.5 between proxies. P(0 of 34) is 0.019 at Seasonic's 11% Reddit-build share and 0.18 at its 4.9% Amazon share. The result does not survive multiple-comparison correction (BH-adjusted p ≈ 0.10).
- The strongest signal in the data is the GPU vendor, not the PSU vendor. MSI cards are 32 of 77 incidents with a known GPU brand (42%), against about 14% of Reddit 5090 builds (observed/expected ≈ 3.0, Fisher p ≈ 1e-6). The failed part is usually MSI's bundled yellow-tip adapter (25 of 41 adapter failures). ASUS cards are strongly under-represented (5/77 against about 36% of builds). A likely contributor is that ROG Astral per-pin sensing warns owners before the connector melts; several "near-miss" posts show exactly that.
- Topology: no configuration is demonstrated safe. Native 16-to-16 cables failed 26 times: 9 at the PSU end only, 4 at the GPU end only, and 9 at both ends. Corsair's Type-4 2×8-pin cables failed 9 times, and at least four burned at the PSU-side Type-4 plugs (I05, I13, I42, I86). That directly contradicts the claim that splitting the PSU end across two 8-pin housings protects that end. GPU adapters failed 41 times, almost always at the GPU end.
- Purchase implication for a ~$5,000 RTX 5090 running sustained inference: the evidence is not strong enough to choose between Corsair and Seasonic on connector-melt grounds. Per-pin current monitoring with automatic shutdown, a moderate power limit, not using an MSI/bundled adapter, and not reseating the cable repeatedly are the controls with evidence behind them. Several incidents (I31, I76, A06) occurred under long AI workloads.
2. Methodology#
Numerator (incidents). Raw Reddit JSON was pulled through a logged-in Chrome session. It covered 50+ search queries across r/nvidia, r/pcmasterrace, r/buildapc, r/Corsair, r/seasonic, r/MSI_Gaming, r/ASUS, r/ASUSROG, r/gigabyte, r/ZOTAC, r/NZXT, r/lianli, r/ThermalGrizzly, r/sffpc, r/Microcenter and others, using relevance, new, top and comments sorts over all time, year and month windows. This produced about 3,200 unique incident-search posts and 5,000+ sweep posts, triaged by title. About 180 threads were read in full, including every comment by the original poster, because the PSU is usually stated in replies. The full 795-comment r/nvidia RTX 50 megathread was also read. On top of that: every VideoCardz article on melted 5090 connectors (about 40), plus Wccftech, Tom's Hardware, TechPowerUp, Igor's Lab, Hardwareluxx, OC3D, Notebookcheck, DSOGaming, Club386, PCMasters.de, Overclock.net (via reports), Mobile01 and Quasarzone (via the megathread).
Deduplication. Every news article was traced to its original post, so a story counts once however many outlets covered it. Cross-posts (for example 1jfis9z/1jfiyo9, 1nyypks/1nyyq8y, 1m688sk/1mgbbvo, 1sgqm99/1t24tnl, 1sjqzwf/1tan4n9, 1r0sk8i/1r1t23e) were merged. The owner who suffered two melts ("Riptide", I75) also had an earlier FE + Corsair SF1000 melt that cannot be told apart from I66 or I72. It is treated as a duplicate and not counted.
Categories. 1 = confirmed connector melt (photos, firsthand detail, or press test system). 2 = probable (early discolouration, or a firsthand claim without photos). 3 = ambiguous electrical event (smoke or sparks at an undocumented location). 4 = unrelated board failure (capacitor, VRM, PCIe edge, memory), excluded. Shunt-modded 1,200–1,350 W cases (M01, M02) are also excluded. RTX 4090, 5080 and 5090D cases are excluded. Two 5090D reports from China, on a Segotep KL-1250G and an ASUS Loki, both with native cables, are listed in the notes only.
Topology codes. A = PSU 12V-2x6/12VHPWR socket to 16-pin, using the PSU maker's native cable. A3 = the same with a third-party cable. B = PSU-side 2×8-pin modular (Corsair "Type-4" and similar) to 16-pin, using the PSU maker's cable. C = the PSU's ordinary 8-pin PCIe cables into the GPU-bundled 3/4×8-pin adapter. D = an intermediate device (WireView, angled adapter, extension). U = unknown.
Denominators. No sales data exists for "PSUs attached to RTX 5090s", so two independent proxies were used and every result is shown against both.
- Reddit 5090 build posts (the primary control). This control comes from the same reporting
population as most incidents. It uses 401 unique authors whose 5090-build or PSU posts contain a
PSU:line, excluding any post mentioning melting. It is also shown with r/sffpc excluded (356 posts), because SFF builders skew heavily to Corsair's SF1000. - Amazon US ≥1000 W "bought in past month" badges (69 listings captured on 2026-09-25, lower-bound units). This measures current sales flow, not the 2025 installed base. Badges are bucketed lower bounds, not unit counts.
Statistics. Exact binomial tails, Clopper–Pearson 95% intervals and Fisher's exact test are computed in the script (pure standard library). They were cross-checked against scipy 1.x and agree to 4 decimals. With about 12 brands × 3 subsets tested, single p-values below 0.05 are expected by chance. Adjusted values are quoted where it matters.
3. Incident table#
Cat 1–2 rows are the dataset. X rows are excluded board failures, A rows are ambiguous events and M rows are modded cases. The CSV carries extra columns: ATX version, load, age and notes.
| ID | Date | GPU | PSU | Cable path | Topo | Failed end | Cat | Flags |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| I01 | 2025-02-09 | RTX 5090 FE | ASUS ROG Loki SFX-L 1000W | ModDIY third-party 16-to-16 (reused from 4090 2 yrs) | A3 | both | 1 | THIRDPARTY |
| I02 | 2025-02-12 | RTX 5090 FE | EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P3 | Daisy-chained extensions + mixed Corsair/EVGA PCIe cables + NVIDIA squ | C | psu | 1 | IMPROPER |
| I03 | 2025-02-09 | RTX 5090 FE | FSP Hydro GT PRO | FSP native 16-to-16 (heavily used) | A | psu | 1 | PRESS, WORN |
| I04 | 2025-03-20 | RTX 5090 Gaming X Trio | Corsair HX1000i (2022/23) | MSI 4x8 adapter fed by Corsair PCIe cables | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I05 | 2025-04-04 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio OC | Corsair SF1000L | Corsair Type-4 2x8-pin to 12VHPWR 600W (OP comment) | B | both | 1 | |
| I06 | 2025-04-29 | RTX 5090 Suprim | Super Flower 1300W (model unknown) | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I07 | 2025-05-15 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio OC | Corsair RM1200x Shift | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I08 | 2025-05-24 | RTX 5090 (MSI) | Corsair HX1500i (2023) | MSI bundled yellow-tip adapter (PSU native cable unused) | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I09 | 2025-06-28 | RTX 5090 FE | MSI MPG A1000G PCIE5 | MSI native 16-to-16 | A | psu | 1 | |
| I10 | 2025-07-15 | RTX 5090 Suprim SOC | Corsair RM1200e | MSI adapter fed by 4 Corsair PCIe cables | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I11 | 2025-07-22 | RTX 5090 ARGB Epic-X OC | Montech Titan PLA 1200W | Montech native 16-to-16 | A | gpu | 1 | |
| I12 | 2025-07-24 | RTX 5090 FE | ? | NVIDIA bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | PRESS, GAP |
| I13 | 2025-07-27 | RTX 5090 Gaming OC | Corsair HX1200 (non-i) | Corsair Type-4 2x8-pin to 12VHPWR (H+ era) | B | both | 1 | |
| I14 | 2025-08-08 | RTX 5090 (MSI) | ? | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I15 | 2025-08-16 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio OC | Seasonic PRIME PX-1600 | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | WATERBLOCK |
| I16 | 2025-08-01 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio | Corsair SF1000 | MSI bundled adapter (assumed same as second) | C | ? | 2 | SECONDARY |
| I17 | 2025-08-30 | RTX 5090 (MSI) | ? | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I18 | 2025-10-05 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio | Corsair HX1200i | MSI bundled adapter (PSU had no native socket) | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I19 | 2025-10-07 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio (replacement) | Corsair SF1000 | MSI bundled adapter | C | ? | 1 | REPEAT_USER |
| I20 | 2025-10-12 | RTX 5090 Ventus 3X | Corsair RM1000x (older) | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | VERTICAL |
| I21 | 2025-10-12 | RTX 5090 (prebuilt) | ? | unknown 16-pin cable | U | gpu | 1 | PREBUILT |
| I22 | 2025-10-14 | RTX 5090 Ventus | Corsair 1200W (model unknown) | 4-to-1 bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I23 | 2025-10-14 | RTX 5090 | MSI MEG Ai1300P | MSI native yellow-tip 16-to-16 (per commenters) | A | ? | 1 | |
| I24 | 2025-10-17 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio OC | ? | MSI bundled yellow-tip adapter | C | gpu | 1 | VERTICAL |
| I25 | 2025-10-20 | RTX 5090 Suprim Liquid | Corsair HX1200i | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I26 | 2025-11-06 | RTX 5090 FE | Corsair unspecified (no native socket) | NVIDIA 4x8 squid | C | gpu | 2 | |
| I27 | 2025-11-25 | RTX 5090 Solid | Cooler Master MWE Gold 850 V2 | bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | BELOW_SPEC_PSU |
| I28 | 2025-11-25 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio OC | Seasonic Prime TX-1600 Noctua (dual 12V-2x6) | MSI bundled 4x8 adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I29 | 2025-11-26 | TUF RTX 5090 OC | Corsair AX1600i | ASUS bundled adapter (AX1600i has no native cable) | C | both | 1 | |
| I30 | 2025-12-08 | RTX 5090 | ? | unknown | U | ? | 2 | |
| I31 | 2025-12-18 | RTX 5090 Aorus Master | ASRock SL-1000GW | ASRock native 16-to-16 | A | both | 1 | AI_LOAD |
| I32 | 2025-12-20 | RTX 5090 | ASRock Phantom Gaming PG-1300G (NTC cable) | ASRock native 16-to-16 with NTC | A | psu | 1 | |
| I33 | 2025-12-21 | RTX 5090 | Sharkoon Rebel P20 1200W | Sharkoon native 16-to-16 | A | psu | 1 | |
| I34 | 2025-12-26 | RTX 5090 (MSI Trio per commenter) | PowerSpec 1050 GFM (Micro Center) | PowerSpec native 16-to-16 | A | gpu | 1 | FIRE |
| I35 | 2025-12-30 | RTX 5090 Ventus | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1300W | MSI adapter fed by 4 separate PCIe cables | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I36 | 2026-01-01 | RTX 5090 Aorus Master Ice | Thermaltake Toughpower GF3 Snow 1200W | white cable (PSU or GPU supplied; builder installed) | A? | both? | 1 | PREBUILT |
| I37 | 2026-01-07 | RTX 5090 | ? | Gigabyte bundled adapter | C | gpu | 2 | |
| I38 | 2026-01-09 | TUF RTX 5090 | be quiet! Straight Power 12 1500W | be quiet! native 12VHPWR 16-to-16 | A | both | 1 | WATERBLOCK |
| I39 | 2026-01-18 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio | NZXT C1500 Platinum | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I40 | 2026-02-02 | RTX 5090 FE | Corsair RM1000x | Corsair 12VHPWR cable (Type-4 or native unknown) | B? | gpu | 1 | REPEAT_USER |
| I41 | 2026-02-02 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio | ? | MSI bundled yellow adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I42 | 2026-02-10 | RTX 5090 | Corsair RM1000e | Corsair 2x8 Type-4 to 12VHPWR | B | both | 1 | |
| I43 | 2026-02-13 | RTX 5090 | ? | unknown | U | gpu | 2 | PREBUILT |
| I44 | 2026-02-17 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio | ? | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I45 | 2026-02-19 | RTX 5090 Aorus Master White | Corsair RM1000 | Gigabyte bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I46 | 2026-02-18 | RTX 5090 Aorus Master Ice | ? | Gigabyte bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I47 | 2026-03-02 | RTX 5090 GameRock | Thermaltake Toughpower GF3 1350W | Thermaltake native 12VHPWR 16-to-16 | A | gpu | 2 | EARLY |
| I48 | 2026-03-07 | RTX 5090 FE | Corsair AX1600i | NVIDIA 4x8 squid | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I49 | 2026-03-11 | RTX 5090 (MSI) | Corsair RM1000e (older) | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I50 | 2026-03-21 | RTX 5090 Master Ice | be quiet! Pure Power 12 M 1000W | be quiet! native 12VHPWR 16-to-16 | A | both | 1 | |
| I51 | 2026-04-01 | RTX 5090 | Seasonic unspecified | Seasonic cable (fine) into recalled CableMod 90-degree adapter | D | intermediate | 1 | RECALLED_ADAPTER |
| I52 | 2026-04-02 | RTX 5090 GameRock OC | ASUS ROG Thor 1600W | NVIDIA bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I53 | 2026-04-06 | RTX 5090 Vanguard | MSI MEG Ai1300P | MSI bundled adapter (per owner) | C | both | 1 | |
| I54 | 2026-04-09 | RTX 5090 | Corsair RM1000x | Gigabyte bundled adapter | C | ? | 1 | |
| I55 | 2026-04-09 | RTX 5090 Aorus Master Ice | Lian Li Edge 1300W | Gigabyte bundled 4x8 pigtail | C | ? | 1 | |
| I56 | 2026-04-12 | RTX 5090 FE | NZXT C1000 (ATX 3.1) | NZXT native 16-to-16 | A | ? | 1 | |
| I57 | 2026-04-22 | RTX 5090 | ? | unknown | U | ? | 1 | |
| I58 | 2026-05-08 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio OC | NZXT C1500 | NZXT native 16-to-16 | A | both | 1 | PRESS |
| I59 | 2026-05-10 | ROG Astral RTX 5090 | ASUS ROG Loki 1200W Titanium | ASUS bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I60 | 2026-05-11 | RTX 5090 | ? | unknown | U | ? | 1 | |
| I61 | 2026-05-18 | RTX 5090 FE (waterblocked) | MSI MEG Ai1600T | MSI native 16-to-16 | A | both | 1 | WATERBLOCK |
| I62 | 2026-05-21 | RTX 5090 | be quiet! Dark Power 13 1000W | be quiet! native 16-to-16 | A | psu | 1 | WIREVIEW |
| I63 | 2026-05-23 | RTX 5090 GameRock | Antec NE1000G | Antec native 16-to-16 | A | both | 1 | EARLY |
| I64 | 2026-05-27 | RTX 5090 FE | ? | NVIDIA 4x8 squid (never removed) | C | ? | 1 | PRESS |
| I65 | 2026-05-30 | RTX 5090 | Montech Titan PLA 1200W | Montech native 16-to-16 | A | psu | 1 | |
| I66 | 2026-06-07 | RTX 5090 FE | Corsair SF1000 | Corsair SF1000 12V-2x6 cable (Type-4 or native unknown) | B? | psu | 1 | |
| I67 | 2026-06-08 | RTX 5090 Suprim | Corsair RM1000x | Corsair Type-4 12V-2x6 | B | gpu | 1 | REPEATED_RESEATING |
| I68 | 2026-06-08 | RTX 5090 FE? | ASUS unspecified ASUS PSU | PSU cable | A? | psu | 2 | |
| I69 | 2026-06-12 | RTX 5090 (MSI) | Corsair 1200W ATX 3.1 | MSI bundled adapter | C | ? | 1 | |
| I70 | 2026-06-17 | RTX 5090 Aorus Master Ice | Phanteks AMP GH V2 1200W | Phanteks native 16-to-16 | A | ? | 2 | EARLY |
| I71 | 2026-06-18 | RTX 5090 (MSI) | ? | unknown | U | ? | 2 | |
| I72 | 2026-06-18 | RTX 5090 FE | Corsair SF1000 | unknown (PSU cable likely) | U | ? | 1 | |
| I73 | 2026-06-21 | RTX 5090 | MSI MEG Ai1300P | MSI native 16-to-16 | A | gpu | 2 | EARLY |
| I74 | 2026-06-23 | RTX 5090 FE | be quiet! Dark Power 13 1000W | be quiet! native 16-to-16 | A | both | 1 | PRESS |
| I75 | 2026-07-10 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio OC | ASRock PG1000-PSF (TempGuard) | ASRock native 16-to-16 with NTC | A | psu | 1 | REPEAT_USER |
| I76 | 2026-07-10 | RTX 5090 (MSI) | ? | cable with two PSU-side plugs (Type-4 style) per description | B? | both | 1 | AI_LOAD |
| I77 | 2026-07-11 | RTX 5090 FE | Lian Li Edge 1300W | Lian Li native 16-to-16 | A | both | 2 | EARLY |
| I78 | 2026-07-13 | RTX 5090 | ? | white cable (unknown) | U | ? | 1 | |
| I79 | 2026-07-15 | RTX 5090 Aorus Xtreme Waterforce | Seasonic Prime TX-1600 Noctua | Seasonic native cable into Thermal Grizzly WireView Pro | D | intermediate | 1 | IGNORED_ALARMS |
| I80 | 2026-08-14 | RTX 5090 | ? | unknown | U | ? | 2 | SECONDARY |
| I81 | 2026-08-22 | RTX 5090 Solid | Corsair RM1000x (ATX 3.1) | Zotac bundled 4x8 adapter (PSU native cable unused) | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I82 | 2026-08-27 | TUF RTX 5090 OC | Corsair AX1600i | Corsair Type-4 2x8-pin to 12V-2x6 600W | B | gpu | 1 | |
| I83 | 2026-08-30 | RTX 5090 (MSI) | ? | unknown | U | ? | 1 | |
| I84 | 2026-09-02 | ROG Astral RTX 5090 | be quiet! Dark Power 13 | be quiet! native 16-to-16 | A | psu | 1 | PRESS |
| I85 | 2026-09-06 | RTX 5090 Gaming Trio OC | ? | MSI-branded 16-pin (bundled adapter likely) | C? | gpu | 1 | |
| I86 | 2026-09-11 | RTX 5090 FE | Corsair HX1200i (ATX 3.0) | Corsair premium sleeved Type-4 2x8-pin to 12V-2x6 | B | psu | 1 | |
| I87 | 2026-09-13 | RTX 5090 | ? | PSU-supplied cable (non-PNY) | U | ? | 1 | PREBUILT |
| I88 | 2026-09-24 | RTX 5090 | ASRock PG-1600G | ASRock native 16-to-16 | A | both | 1 | |
| I89 | 2026-09-24 | RTX 5090 Gaming X Trio | Corsair 1200W platinum | MSI bundled adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I90 | 2026-06-03 | RTX 5090 | ? | bundled PCIe adapter | C | gpu | 1 | |
| I91 | 2026-06-28 | RTX 5090 | ? | unknown | U | gpu | 1 | REPAIR_SHOP |
| X01 | 2025-02-22 | ROG Astral RTX 5090 | ? | – | board | 4 | ||
| X02 | 2025-08-26 | RTX 5090 ARGB OC | Super Flower Leadex III 1300W | – | board | 4 | ||
| X03 | 2026-01-29 | RTX 5090 | Gamdias? Helios P2A 1300W? | – | board | 4 | ||
| X04 | 2026-07-13 | RTX 5090 Solid | ? | – | board | 4 | ||
| X05 | 2026-08-29 | RTX 5090 | Dell OEM | – | board | 4 | ||
| X06 | 2026-02-06 | RTX 5090 | ? | – | board | 4 | ||
| A01 | 2025-03-13 | RTX 5090 | Corsair ? | Corsair 2x8 to 12VHPWR | B | ? | 3 | |
| A02 | 2025-04-02 | RTX 5090 | ? | PSU 12V-2x6 cable | A? | ? | 3 | |
| A03 | 2025-12-02 | RTX 5090 | NZXT C1000 Gold ATX 3.1 | NZXT native 16-to-16 | A | ? | 3 | |
| A04 | 2026-03-27 | RTX 5090 | ? | U | ? | 3 | PREBUILT | |
| A05 | 2026-08-26 | RTX 5090 | Corsair OEM (Vengeance prebuilt) | U | ? | 3 | PREBUILT | |
| A06 | 2026-07-25 | RTX 5090 | MSI MEG Ai1300P | MSI native cable | A | ? | 3 | AI_LOAD |
| M01 | 2025-12-31 | RTX 5090 Ventus (shunt-modded) | ASRock ATX 3.1 (NTC cable) | ASRock native | A | gpu | 1 | MODDED |
| M02 | 2026-02-25 | ROG Astral RTX 5090 (shunt-modded XOC) | ? | into WireView | D | intermediate | 1 | MODDED, IGNORED_ALARMS |
4. PSU-brand incident counts#
Among the 91 incidents, 68 name the PSU brand. The count by brand:
| PSU brand | All 68 incidents | Own cable in path, A/B (n = 34) | GPU-adapter path, C (n = 30) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Corsair | 28 | 8 | 19 |
| be quiet! | 5 | 5 | 0 |
| MSI | 5 | 4 | 1 |
| Seasonic | 4 | 0 | 2 (the other 2 are D) |
| ASUS | 4 | 1 | 2 |
| ASRock | 4 | 4 | 0 |
| NZXT | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| Montech | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| Thermaltake | 2 | 2 | 0 |
| Lian Li | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| EVGA | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Super Flower | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Other (FSP, Sharkoon, PowerSpec, Phanteks, Antec, Cooler Master) | 6 | 5 | 1 |
The 68 includes the D and U-topology rows, so the A/B and C columns do not sum to it.
By PSU family. Corsair: SF1000/SF1000L ×5 (I05, I16, I19, I66, I72), HX1200/HX1200i ×4 (I13, I18, I25, I86), RM1000x ×5 (I20, I40, I54, I67, I81), RM1000/RM1000e ×3 (I42, I45, I49), AX1600i ×3 (I29, I48, I82), HX1000i, HX1500i, RM1200e, RM1200x Shift and two unnamed 1200 W units. Seasonic: Prime TX-1600 Noctua ×2 (I28 adapter; I79 WireView), Prime PX-1600 (I15 adapter), one unnamed (I51 CableMod adapter). No Vertex GX/PX or Focus unit appears anywhere in the ledger. be quiet!: Dark Power 13 ×3 (including the Club386 and Hardware Unboxed press rigs), Straight Power 12, Pure Power 12 M. ASRock: SL-1000GW, PG-1300G, PG1000-PSF and PG-1600G. Three of those four are the NTC "TempGuard" cables: one tripped (I32) and one did not (I75).
5. Cable path and failure location#
| Topology | Incidents | PSU end only | GPU end only | Both | Intermediate | Unknown |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| A: native 16-to-16 (+1 third-party) | 27 | 9 | 4 | 10 | – | 4 |
| B: PSU 2×8 Type-4 to 16-pin | 9 | 2 | 3 | 4 | – | 0 |
| C: GPU-bundled 4×8 adapter | 41 | 1 | 32 | 2 | – | 6 |
| D: angle adapter / WireView | 2 | – | – | – | 2 | – |
| Unknown | 12 |
The damage location tracks topology. Adapter failures are almost always at the GPU-side 16-pin, the only 16-pin in that path. Native-cable failures are as likely to start at the PSU socket as at the GPU, which matches der8auer's, Hardwareluxx's and Hardware Unboxed's thermal images of 117–175 °C at the PSU end. B-type failures occur at both ends, including the Type-4 8-pin plugs themselves.
GPU vendor (77 incidents with a known GPU brand): MSI 32, NVIDIA FE 17, Gigabyte 11, Palit 6, ASUS 5, PNY 4, Zotac 2. Against the GPU line of the same Reddit build control (n = 278): ASUS 36%, FE 22%, Gigabyte 21%, MSI 14%, Zotac 3%. That gives MSI O/E ≈ 3.0 (p ≈ 1e-6), FE 1.0, Gigabyte 0.67 (p = 0.2) and ASUS 0.18. Build showcase posts probably over-sample Astral cards, which inflates the ASUS denominator, but not by a factor of five.
6. Installed-base estimates#
| PSU brand | Reddit 5090 builds (n=401) | …excluding r/sffpc (n=356) | Amazon ≥1000 W sales badges, Sep 2026 | Working range used |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Corsair | 38.2% | 34.0% | 28.0% | 28–45% |
| Seasonic | 11.0% | 12.1% | 4.9% | 5–12% |
| ASUS | 12.0% | 11.8% | 12.0% | 10–13% |
| Lian Li | 11.2% | 12.4% | 11.6% | 10–13% |
| MSI | 6.7% | 7.6% | 7.6% | 6–9% |
| be quiet! | 4.0% | 4.5% | 12.4% | 4–12% |
| ASRock | 0.5% | 0.6% | 5.8% | 1–6% |
| Thermaltake / NZXT / EVGA / Super Flower / Montech | 1.5–2.7% each | similar | 2–4% | – |
Assumptions and caveats:
- Corsair's 10-K says only that "many" of its products hold the number-one US share (FY2024 10-K). No Circana/NPD PSU share figure is public. Aggregator figures such as "Corsair 14.5%" conflate company revenue with PSU share and were discarded.
- The Reddit control measures the population that posts about 5090 builds. That is the right comparison for a Reddit-sourced numerator, because it shares the same geographic and subreddit biases. It is the wrong comparison for the global installed base.
- The Amazon badges measure what sells now, a year after most incident-era cards were installed. They capture be quiet!/ASUS/ASRock growth and Seasonic's weak US Amazon presence (Seasonic sells heavily via Newegg, Micro Center and outside the US), and they cannot see 2025's installed base. PCPartPicker completed builds would be the best third proxy but sit behind a Cloudflare challenge.
- Neither proxy gives the share of 5090 owners who use each cable path, which is the denominator that actually matters for section 7. That share is not measured anywhere public.
7. Normalized observed vs expected#
Observed/expected is the brand's share of incidents divided by its denominator share.
| Brand | Subset | Incidents | Share (95% CI) | O/E vs Reddit | O/E vs Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Corsair | all known-PSU | 28/68 | 41% (29–54) | 1.08 | 1.47 |
| Corsair | own cable A/B | 8/34 | 24% (11–41) | 0.62 | 0.84 |
| Corsair | adapter C | 19/30 | 63% (44–80) | 1.66 | 2.26 |
| Seasonic | all known-PSU | 4/68 | 6% (2–14) | 0.54 | 1.20 |
| Seasonic | own cable A/B | 0/34 | 0% (0–10) | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| be quiet! | own cable A/B | 5/34 | 15% (5–31) | 3.69 | 1.18 |
| ASRock | own cable A/B | 4/34 | 12% (3–28) | 23.6 | 2.04 |
| MSI | own cable A/B | 4/34 | 12% (3–28) | 1.75 | 1.56 |
| ASUS | all known-PSU | 4/68 | 6% (2–14) | 0.49 | 0.49 |
| Lian Li | all known-PSU | 2/68 | 3% (0–10) | 0.26 | 0.25 |
8. Statistical sensitivity#
This section asks how likely the observed Corsair and Seasonic counts would be by chance at each plausible true share.
| Assumed Corsair share | P(≥28 of 68), all | P(≤8 of 34), own cable | P(≥19 of 30), adapter |
|---|---|---|---|
| 20% | <0.001 | 0.77 | <0.001 |
| 30% | 0.033 | 0.27 | <0.001 |
| 40% | 0.47 | 0.034 | 0.008 |
| 50% | 0.94 | 0.001 | 0.10 |
| 60% | >0.99 | <0.001 | 0.43 |
| 70% | >0.99 | <0.001 | 0.84 |
| Assumed Seasonic share | P(≤4 of 68), all | P(0 of 34), own cable |
|---|---|---|
| 5% | 0.75 | 0.18 |
| 8% | 0.36 | 0.06 |
| 10% | 0.18 | 0.028 |
| 12% | 0.08 | 0.013 |
| 15% | 0.02 | 0.004 |
Fisher's exact test against the Reddit build control gives the following. Corsair: all p = 0.69, A/B p = 0.10 (under-represented), C p = 0.011 (over-represented). Seasonic: A/B p = 0.037. be quiet!: A/B p = 0.018. ASRock: A/B p < 0.001. After Benjamini–Hochberg correction across the eight A/B brand tests, only ASRock survives (0.001), with be quiet! at 0.07 and Seasonic at 0.10. Both of those flip to unremarkable under the Amazon denominator (be quiet! P(≥5) = 0.42; Seasonic P(0) = 0.18). ASRock's excess is likely mostly a denominator artefact. It rarely appears in Reddit build posts yet holds about 6% of current Amazon sales, and its temperature-sensing cable draws owners who then post when it trips.
Reading: none of the PSU-brand results is robust to a reasonable change of denominator. The GPU-vendor result (MSI) is the only effect that stays large under every framing.
9. Corsair cable investigation#
- Terminal float is specified. Corsair states that 12V-2x6 terminals are deliberately designed with 0.25–0.55 mm of play, most at 0.44 mm. Its reason: less play needs more insertion force and wears the terminals faster (Corsair, Tom's Hardware). Jon Gerow shared an X-ray showing slack terminals that were nonetheless in full contact once mated. Corsair's marketing director told Tech Overwrite that tolerance differs by vendor (Tech Overwrite).
- Three cable vendors are acknowledged ("some will be 0.25 mm, others 0.55, with the majority being 0.44 mm"). Whether they use different terminals or crimps is not disclosed, and no public teardown maps a failure to a vendor or revision. Corsair also says H+ and H++ cables are physically identical (Corsair). No revision change on the cable itself can explain a trend.
- Recessed pins and current variance are documented; melts from them are not. JayzTwoCents found "2 VERY recessed" pins on an HX1500i cable plugged in once (X). Owners with per-pin telemetry report imbalance on new Corsair cables: 1umvq4p (HX1500i, 9.5–10 A on one cable, fine on the second), 1rgfunf (HX1500i cable with a dead pin 6, fixed by swapping cables), and commenters who went through two or three Corsair cables. The same pattern is reported for ASUS Thor II/III, Super Flower Leadex VII and be quiet! cables (1q9bkz3, 1uay72g, 1voo6hg, 1suf7e6). No brand-comparative current-distribution study exists. Visible float has not been shown to cause poor contact.
- der8auer's 150 °C measurement used a Corsair cable. It was a Type-4 cable on an AX1600i, and he found 22 A on one wire with the PSU end at about 150 °C. In his follow-up, a new Corsair cable measured within spec, pointing at cable ageing or individual-unit variation rather than a systematic design fault (VideoCardz, Igor's Lab).
- Type-4 PSU-side overheating is documented. It is not hypothetical. I05 (SF1000L: both ends, PSU worse), I13 (HX1200: right-hand Type-4 plug melted into the PSU), I42 (RM1000e: burn nearest the PSU end), I86 (HX1200i ATX 3.0: both Type-4 plugs fused, 4 of 6 12V pins melted, GPU end like new). The last is exactly the case asked about: the Corsair PSU side melted while the GPU-side 12V-2x6 stayed intact. I82 is the reverse: Type-4 on an AX1600i, GPU end melted, PSU end clean.
- Does 2×8-pin improve current distribution? In Corsair's cable the six 12V wires are split three per 8-pin housing. Each PSU-side terminal therefore carries the same about 8.3 A at 600 W as a 16-pin terminal, through larger contacts but one extra mated interface in series. It does not reduce per-terminal current and it cannot balance current between wires. No measurement shows B running more evenly than A.
- Corsair's own position has shifted towards monitoring. Jon Gerow writes that connectors "don't stay fully seated forever" and drift loose from cable tension, vibration and reinsertions. Corsair now sells a $24.99 ThermalProtect cable and PinProtect on newer PSUs (VideoCardz).
- Correction for the node doc. The 2025 HX1200i ships "1x 2x6-pin to 12V-2x6 cable", which is topology B, not a native socket. Its Amazon listing says "Native 12V-2x6 Cable Included", but that means the cable, not the socket (Corsair FAQ on the product page).
10. Seasonic cable investigation#
- Design. The cable is a native 12V-2x6 to 12V-2x6, 16 AWG, with "High Current Terminal" (HCS) connectors at both ends. It is symmetric, about 700 mm, rated 600 W and 30 mating cycles (Seasonic KB; Tom's Hardware's launch report says 50). It fits Prime TX/PX, Vertex GX/PX, Focus GX and Core GX ATX 3.x units (Seasonic, KB). The terminal manufacturer and cable subcontractor are not disclosed. The ATX 3.0 12VHPWR (black) cable was replaced by the blue-tipped 12V-2x6 cable in 2024. Seasonic says H+/H++ cables are cross-compatible. Seasonic also offers 2×8-pin variants for older modular units.
- Documented failures. No melted Seasonic native cable was found at either end: zero Vertex PSU-socket failures and zero GPU-side failures on a Seasonic native cable. Four incidents involve Seasonic PSUs, all through third parties: I15 and I28 were MSI adapters; I51 was a recalled CableMod 90° adapter, where the owner says the Seasonic cable was undamaged; I79 was a Thermal Grizzly WireView that alarmed for weeks.
- Non-melt anomalies. I28's owner had months of black screens under load on the Seasonic native cable (Prime TX-1600 Noctua) before switching to the adapter that later melted. That fits the high-resistance contact pattern that precedes many melts. A WireView on a Prime TX-1600 Noctua rig alarmed for weeks before the WireView itself melted (I79). A Seasonic support agent recommended CableMod as a replacement cable (r/cablemod 1l2g1cc). Hardwareluxx's Andreas Schilling photographed a 12V-2x6 PSU-end cable at 117–150 °C with no melt. VideoCardz names the PSU as a be quiet! Dark Power 13, while a later Hardwareluxx summary names a Seasonic Prime TX-1600. The attribution is disputed, so it is not counted.
- Independent testing. No independent current-distribution or thermal study of Seasonic cables, specifically, was found.
- Supply chain (checked 2026-09-25). The claim that "Seasonic makes its cables in-house while Corsair
outsources" is partly true, partly unverified, and misses the key part.
- Seasonic does build its own PSUs. Its only manufacturing subsidiary, Dongguan Seasonic Electronic Co., is registered for "production and sale of switching power supplies, UPS, electronic ballasts, testing equipment". The group has no cable or harness entity (2023 consolidated financials). Nothing public says whether Seasonic crimps and assembles its 16-pin cables in that plant or buys finished harnesses. Seasonic does ship cable sets to the brands it builds PSUs for (Jon Gerow on an Antec unit: "They probably leveraged their existing cable set").
- The contact parts are bought in. Aris Bitziopoulos (Hardware Busters) confirmed that Seasonic's Vertex 12VHPWR cable uses Astron terminals (review comment, Jul 2023). Astron made NVIDIA's 2022 RTX 4090 adapter. Its double-slot ("3-dimple") contact was the design Igor's Lab, Intel and Zotac/Gigabyte rated below NTK's single-slot "4-spring" contact for contact resistance after repeated mating (Igor's Lab). Whether the blue 2024 12V-2x6 cable changed terminal vendor is undisclosed.
- Corsair names no vendors. It says only that it uses three cable vendors. Its PSUs are themselves built by OEMs (CWT, Great Wall, Flextronics by line).
- Net: no public source ties a terminal vendor, crimp source or assembler to failure rates for any PSU brand. "In-house assembly means fewer melts" is a reasonable hypothesis, since contact resistance is the failure mechanism, but it is untested. The one documented Seasonic terminal choice is the design the 2022 investigations rated weaker.
- Denominator reality check. In the Reddit build control Seasonic is about 11–12% of 5090 PSUs, mostly Prime TX-1600 Noctua and Vertex. A 0-of-34 own-cable record is mildly encouraging, not probative.
11. Engineering interpretation#
- The mechanism is well established. Brand attribution is not. Six 12V contacts are paralleled with no per-pair sensing on reference 5090 boards. One high-resistance contact shifts current to its neighbours, and P = I²R rises with the square of that current, so the effect runs away. der8auer and HUB both measured about 22 A on one wire (rated about 9.2 A). This happens at whichever mated interface degrades first, and each topology adds or removes interfaces: A has 2 sixteen-pin interfaces; B has 1 sixteen-pin plus 2 eight-pin; C has 4 PSU 8-pins, 4 adapter 8-pins and 1 sixteen-pin.
- Evidence of a GPU-side contribution exists. An industry poster moved the same known-good cables between Astral cards and found that some cards imbalanced and others did not (1w5nldl). A GPU socket that imbalances will do so with every PSU brand.
- Adapter risk looks vendor-specific. MSI's yellow-tip adapter appears in 25 of 41 adapter failures (MSI ≈ 14% of builds). Reports that the plug can slowly work loose were covered by VideoCardz in Feb 2026. This is the one effect in the data that is large, specific and repeated. Note the counter-claim from ASUS, MSI and Gigabyte, which officially recommend their bundled adapters (VideoCardz, nine brands).
- Theory versus demonstrated rates. In theory B's larger PSU-side terminals should run cooler than a 16-pin PSU socket, and C's many interfaces should be worst. What the data demonstrates: C has the most incidents but also, very likely, the most users (every 5090 box ships the adapter, and many owners of non-native PSUs must use it). Neither A nor B shows a measurable advantage without knowing how many owners use each path. Power limits (I46 at 500 W, I50 at ≤380 W, I72 at 70%, I86 at 450 W) and undervolts did not prevent melts, although they plausibly reduce the rate.
12. Limitations#
- Survivorship and reporting bias. Dramatic melts get posted and uneventful systems do not. r/nvidia removes standalone melt posts, pushing them to r/pcmasterrace or into the megathread. Brand subreddits (r/Corsair, r/MSI_Gaming, r/ASUS) are far more active than r/seasonic (5 hits in total), so some Seasonic-owner melts may have been posted where these searches did not reach.
- Coverage. Reddit search caps at about 250 results per query and repeatedly hid threads that VideoCardz later cited (seven were recovered that way). Chinese, Japanese and Korean forums (Chiphell, Baidu, Quasarzone) were seen only through reposts. The ledger is a sample, not a census, and it is US- and Reddit-heavy.
- Exposure is not GPU-hours. Incidents rose from 4 in 2025 Q1 to 26 in 2026 Q2. That growth mixes installed-base growth, connector ageing (median age at failure 8 months, IQR 4–12, n = 57), reinsertion wear and heightened awareness (the Hardware Unboxed video and DLSS 5 in September 2026 pushing past 600 W). PSUs launched in 2025 (the Corsair 2025 RMe/HXi, ASUS Equalizer, MSI Safeguard+ and Corsair ThermalProtect) have had months of exposure, not 18, so their absence proves nothing yet.
- Coding judgement. Many posts omit the PSU (23 of 91) or the cable. Coding was cross-checked against
the owner's own comments where possible, and uncertain codes are marked
?. Insertion claims were not accepted as proof: I12's own photo shows a gap. Two cases are repeat owners, and one user-error case (I02, mixed-brand extension cables) is kept but flagged. - Denominators disagree by up to 10× for small brands (ASRock, be quiet!). Any brand-level claim about a brand under about 10% share is noise at this sample size.
13. Conclusion#
A. Is Corsair disproportionately represented after accounting for installed base? No detectable difference for Corsair's own cables (8 of 34 own-cable incidents; O/E 0.62–0.84). Corsair is over-represented only among GPU-adapter failures (O/E 1.7–2.3). This is suggestive but inconclusive, and it is better explained by Corsair's many non-native-socket PSUs pushing owners onto adapters, often MSI's, than by Corsair hardware. Corsair's Type-4 PSU-side plugs have documented melts (4 cases), so Type-4 is not immune.
B. Is Seasonic under-represented? Suggestive but inconclusive. There are zero Seasonic-cable failures in 34 own-cable incidents, and no Vertex/Focus unit appears at all. That is unlikely by chance if Seasonic holds about 11% of 5090 PSUs (p ≈ 0.02), plausible at about 5% (p ≈ 0.18), and not significant after multiple-comparison correction.
C. Is 2×Type-4 8-pin → 12V-2x6 demonstrably safer than native 12V-2x6 → 12V-2x6? No. Both failed at both ends. B does not lower per-terminal current and adds an interface. There are 4 documented Corsair Type-4 PSU-side melts. No per-topology denominator exists, so relative rates are insufficient data.
D. Brand, cable, topology or market share? At PSU-brand level the differences are consistent with market share plus denominator uncertainty. The one robust signal is a GPU-vendor/adapter effect (MSI cards with MSI's bundled adapter, O/E ≈ 3). A secondary pattern is topology-linked: adapter use concentrates on older or non-native Corsair units. The underlying cause remains the unbalanced six-contact connector at 500–600 W, which no PSU brand fixes by itself.
E. Strong enough to steer a PSU purchase for a ~$5,000 RTX 5090 doing sustained inference? Not on brand grounds. Between comparable Tier-A units (Seasonic Vertex PX-1200 native; Corsair HX1200i Type-4) the melt evidence is a wash. It should not override telemetry, price or warranty. The actionable conclusions are all topology and monitoring:
- use the PSU maker's own fresh cable and never the GPU-bundled adapter, especially not MSI's;
- seat it once and avoid needless reinsertion (30-cycle rating; see I67's quarterly reseating);
- add per-pin current sensing with automatic shutdown (WireView Pro II, ASUS Astral Power Detector, MSI Safeguard+, Corsair ThermalProtect) and act on alarms (I79 is what happens when you don't);
- run a modest power limit. It lowers stress but does not guarantee safety;
- treat 16-pin voltage sag under load (below about 11.5 V at the card) as a replace-the-cable signal (I47, I65, I70).
Related#
rtx5090-node-power-supply-and-site-power-decision.md: the PSU purchase this evidence feeds.overview.md: the node build.